New Studio Monitors

Oh, my speakers came in today! I got myself a pair of Dynaudio BM5A’s, but unfortunately the cables I ordered (just a pair of TRS to XLR cables) haven’t arrived. Sigh. So I cleared my table, setup the speakers… and I can’t listen to them. 😦 They look nice on my desk, but I didn’t buy them just for that!

~ by audioreviewer on November 27, 2006.

One Response to “New Studio Monitors”

  1. […] It’s been a long wait getting these speakers setup. OK, actually it’s only been a week or two, but it sure feels like a long time. First of course I had to wait for all my new equipment to arrive. The speakers themselves really didn’t take all that long and arrived earlier this week, but the cables and audio interface (Echo Layla3G, I’ll write more about it in another post some other day) took a little longer to arrive. I then found that the TRS plugs on my cables were too thick to fit into Layla3G one above the other which is necessary seeing as the outputs are linked in left/right pairs. Sigh. Anyway, I got around that by using unbalanced cables with smaller connectors to my mixer, and then outputting a balanced signal to the speakers. I am actually starting to feel like it’d be nice to have one of those control centers like the Mackie Big Knob Control Center, but it just seems like a lot of money just for essentially a mixer with a big volume control, so I think I’ll live with my mixer for now. Anyway, onto the review… […]

Leave a Reply

 
