The Myth of Bose

Bose home theater speakers are widely known as the best you can buy. This is a true statement. Bose home theater speakers are overpriced ripoffs. I also believe this to be a true statement. Sadly, the first statement is true because of Bose’s amazing advertising and not because of any truth in the actual belief. It seems to me that almost everyone who doesn’t know much about audio, but buys their home theater stuff based on what they’ve heard, thinks that Bose systems are absolutely the best, even if they have done zero comparison with better systems. I used to think this way too, a long time ago. In recent years they’ve had a bit of a lashback as the geek crowd who are a bit more “in the know” gained voice along with the rise of the Internet, but the misconception (in my opinion) still remains quite prevalent. Hopefully if you’re interested in Bose, by reading this post you’ll at least gain a healthy dose of skepticism enough to go and do your own listening (which is always good to do when buying speakers anyway) before taking the plunge.

Bose Acoustimass 10 System

I actually went into a Bose store once in some outlet in Oregon (Tanglewood I think?), and sat through one of their product demos in their auditioning room that was completely custom built (I think they must do this in many Bose stores). It was terrible. Several things to keep in mind: I am biased against Bose. I think they’re overpriced ripoff speakers. However, this was an auditioning room tuned for their speakers, with music that I’m sure was carefully selected for both the room and speakers. I went in there not expecting to be wow’ed, but I did expect that they’d sound ok all things considering. Again, I was shocked with how bad they sounded. Not to say they were the worst speakers I’ve ever heard–they certainly weren’t–but some of the highs were so unpleasantly strident that I was quite annoyed. Now if these were $200 speakers, I wouldn’t bat an eye. I probably still wouldn’t have bought them, but I wouldn’t say they were terrible I guess. However, this was a $2500 system… That’s absolutely ridiculous. If you can’t get a $2500 system in an absolutely controlled environment with your own selection of source material to sound good, then there’s something terribly wrong.

Bose TriPort HeadphonesLet me reiterate, you should definitely keep in mind that I’m biased against Bose. Still, I don’t hate everything that they make. Interestingly enough, I also tested out their headphones there. There was a listening station with the TriPorts setup. I’d listened to them briefly at an Apple store before on an iPod, but didn’t listen seriously that previous time for some reason. Other than that the other experience I’d had with Bose headphones was that I’d actually already heard a pair of the even more expensive Quiet Comfort 3’s that one of my co-workers had bought. I was curious as to how they sounded, so I did an A/B comparison with my Shure E4’s. I found the Quiet Comforts to be muddled, completely lacking clarity.

Anyhow, back to my Bose store story. I listened to them at the store and was actually pleasantly surprised. There was only a single sample to listen to, but the bass was quite punchy. Now the sample didn’t have much going on, it was only maybe 3 parts going or so in rather separated frequency ranges, but it definitely sounded good. Upon further inspection however, I found that the pillar of the listening station was vibrating along with the bass… That’s just wrong. Gives people a false impression. Even if it sounded great the unethical station vibration just makes me angry. Plus, strangely enough, I think I found the TriPorts sounded better than the roughly $100 more expensive QC3’s. Active noise cancellation is bound to incur some cost I’m sure, but even if you say that it’d cost an extra $100 to add that technology in, the QC3’s should still sound at least as good as the TriPorts… They don’t.

Another practice which I find repulsive is that when sold in retail stores such as Best Buy or the like, Bose tries its hardest to “convince” the store to place their speakers far away from the rest. This prevents easy direct comparison, allowing its marketing to take full effect where auditory comparison is not available. This alone should set off warning lights and sirens in your head.

To be fair, it used to be that in order to get a speaker that didn’t sound like utter crap and wasn’t a gigantic box, you’d have to buy Bose. Although I don’t like many of their products now, I have to admit that they do some interesting research once in a while. Bose speakers are small, stealthy, and pleasing to the eye (when you even notice them). They’re also relatively easy to setup and hey, even if it is that easy, Bose will still send someone out to install them in your house for you if you don’t want to do it yourself.

Nowadays though, there are way more home theater speaker manufacturers that target the stylish/slim/sexy speakers crowd, and in recent years Bose has done nothing significant in speaker R&D. An excellent alternative if you want a small speaker system is the Energy Take 5 series. It’s been through a few iterations, and I believe the latest is aptly named Energy Take 5.2. These are a much better set of speakers than any of the Bose speakers, they can be found for a much lower price. In fact, nowadays the upper echelon of computer speakers are roughly the size of Bose speakers and sound better. If you look at the upper end lines of any of the top computer speaker manufacturers like Cambridge Soundworks, Klipsch, or Logitech, you’ll find speakers that sound better than Bose.

If you are willing to broaden your horizons beyond diminuitive speakers though, you’ll quickly find that larger speakers just sound better, and there are plenty of them out there. If you’re on a budget, Athena and Mission have some great value speakers, or if you’re willing to spend a bit more (which I’m sure you are if you considered Bose) Energy again makes some great speakers. I’ve heard some good things about Paradigm too, though I have no first hand experience with those speakers. There are plenty of other good manufacturers, but really it’s too much to list them all.

Anyway, it’s really a limitation of physics, you can’t recreate the lower frequencies as well with such small speakers (at least with the regular cone technology which Bose along with 99% of the rest of the market uses). I can hear the protests already… “but Bose has their Acoustimass bass module!” Yes, they do. Sadly this means that audio in the lower-mid range is relegated to the bass module–what the rest of the world calls a subwoofer (not that I think Bose can validly call the bass module a subwoofer, but that’s the role it was designed to fit into). The problem with this is two-fold. Just as small drivers don’t reproduce low frequencies all that well, large drivers don’t reproduce high frequencies too well. What Bose does is to put a smaller driver into the Acoustimass module to be able to handle the mid-range. This unfortunately has the effect of not reproducing truly low frequencies as well. The correct solution that virtually all quality speaker manufacturers use is to provider a driver (or more) for each frequency range. Commonly, this means a 1″ tweeter for the highs, and 4 or 5″ driver for the mids (although this may span a larger range, perhaps 3″ though that’s on the low side and up to 7″) and a larger driver dedicated to low frequencies. This larger driver is usually in a separate speaker which we all know as the subwoofer, but is occasionally builtin to floor-standing tower speakers. For good systems, this driver is usually 8″ or larger, 12″ being the largest that is commonly used in home theater systems though if you look, you can certainly find larger. 15″ isn’t hard to find. Compare this to Bose’s drivers. The satellites use 2.5″ drivers, too large to be great tweeters, but too small for good midrange drivers. The Acoustimass module uses 5.5″ drivers. The lower end ones use two of these, and the higher end ones just add another driver for more output–volume over quality.

Sorry, I got a bit excited there. As I was saying, the problem is two-fold. The other half the problem is that since much of the mids are now coming from the bass module and not the satellites, you lose a lot of directionality. Normally people don’t hear direction with bass frequencies very well, so a single subwoofer as opposed to the 5 satellites that you have is usually plenty. The problem is that the bass module now handles more than just hte low frequencies–it’s supposed to deal with the mids too. So now your mids all emanate from one place!

There are plenty of other issues I have with Bose including poor build quality, but I’ll leave that to you to read up on it elsewhere. I’m sure you’re tired of me ranting. There are plenty of other places which have great information about the Bose Myth. I really hope if you’ve considered Bose, that you’ll at least consider your options and not just follow what their marketing has ingrained in you so well.

~ by audioreviewer on November 28, 2006.

18 Responses to “The Myth of Bose”

  1. One of the reasons people buy Bose or even consider Bose is because they don’t know about anything better. It’s like we say about jpeg vs raw in photography – If you have to ask, shoot jpeg. And those who buy Bose, won’t know the difference anyway. Heck, there are people who are perfectly ok with 128 kbps MP3s.

  2. I agree Manish, that’s why I had my whole spiel on Bose marketing. I think it’s a bit different from JPEG vs. raw though. Assuming it’s going to end up on the web, you probably can’t tell the difference between the two once you tweak, resize, and compress to JPEG anyway! As for 128kbps MP3s, there are definitely people who are ok with that… and I think many of those people are the ones who would buy Bose. Coincidence? You tell me. 🙂

    Anyway, at least with anyone who listens to music any decent amount, I’ve found that sitting them down with a good set of speakers makes a big difference with their tastes for higher MP3 bitrates. For both of these (the Bose thing, and the MP3 bitrate thing) it’s just a matter of user education, which is a little of what this article is aimed to do.

  3. Even more sad is the fact that music nowadays has become a background activity. Something going on the stereo/headphones while you do your work. No one has the patience or the desire to really listen to music the way it is supposed to be. People just want a sound emitting rig, quality be damned.
    And from what I have seen, a high percentage of users will NEVER know the difference between $20 cheapo computer speakers and $50,000 setup. Give them a thumping bass and they’d be ok. People who listen to classical music are a different matter though.

  4. thanx a lot, i was amongst the ignorant ones!

  5. Basically, my opinion on Bose is that they are decent to a degree. But, for the price, you can do a lot better than Bose. Considering the prices their products run for, Bose is simply not worth the money. In my opinion, their average performance is simply not commensurate with the prices they demand. It seems more as if they are pushing style over substance for a premium.

    You can purchase superior equipment from manufacturers, such as B&W and Denon or Polk and Sony ES, and can get superior results for a fraction of the price. You can save money and get better value with alternatives to Bose products (what baffles me are people who are so blinded by Bose marketing that they refuse to consider this simple point and generally respond with hostility, even if their experience with serious hi-fi is limited to Bose).

    With that said, and despite better thinking, let those who don’t know any better buy what they want. It is their money. All we can do is give good advice that they can either take or leave. And, if they are satisfied with their purchase(s), then more power to them. I’m perfectly fine with their choice so long as they don’t try to convince me or others that Bose is best in an annoyingly forceful manner.

    As mentioned before, there is the unfortunate fact that there are many people who may not be able to notice quality differences. Heck, as another poster has said, there are those truly satisfied with highly compressed MP3s.

    As for me, I can just tolerate MP3s but notice their audible warts that can be annoying, particularly at low bitrates. In the subject of satellite radio, (another thing that a lot of people tend to get confused about) I shun them because it seems they have compressed the audio data too much and possibly employed downconversion of the sampling, which gives it both a signature watery/wavey quality to highs and vocals as well as a signature metallic harshness in the highs, all to preserve bandwidth of the signal which ends up making them sound worse than most MP3s. The only advantage is content, otherwise you’re merely exchanging multiplexing noise and narrower frequency response from FM Stereo broadcasts with compression/sample aliasing noise.

    Perhaps the fact that I prefer CDs and LPs are a factor….

  6. Thanks for contributing your thoughts, Reinhart. I actually used to think much the same in terms of Bose not being bad, just overpriced. However, that experience at their listening room really left a bad taste. To me, it’s not just a matter of people being satisfied with their purchases, it’s not wanting to support a company that has such shady marketing practices, and also to let people know what they’re missing out on (especially if they’re wasting lots of money in the process…). I agree though, all we can do is offer our advice, in the end the people who are making the purchase must make their own decision.

  7. what a load of B+++! Bose is not the best at all… Clearly non of you have done your homework in the research proces.
    Bose is nothing but a lifestyle hifi contestant, and it has absoulutely nothing to do with good sound. Try other brands on the marked. Even my Sony DAV-S888 sounds better than anything Bose has ever created.
    For true Audiophiles this Brand is nothing but bollocks.
    But besides the fancy look and small compact speakers Bose has nothing to offer. I will admit though, that hooking up with Audi might seem to be a good idea for Bose. I hope i will highten the standart and while they are in the proces of making these Bose/Audi systems, they will discover what good sound is

  8. This is interesting to me because just a few days ago I was looking for a set of speakers.

    I actually got to compare 5.1 Bose with these cool Logitech speakers that send the sound in all directions (and may simulate surround). The Bose was… sub-par. And overpriced too! I payed 1/4th the price for these great looking speakers that sound as good as they look.

    A little bit of skepticism is always an important thing to have. At first I was going to buy the Bose just because they were Bose. Thank goodness I compared them before I bought them. I would’ve been severely disappointed…

  9. Bang & olufsen is the best!!

  10. Bang & olufsen is the best, and will beat bose anyday!!

  11. I have to agree with you that Bose superiority is all about thier marketing efforts. You just don’t see the other speaker manufactorers on t.v. every day. I know someone who uses a bose system and my system sounds so much better. I have a two tower speakers with a tweeter, mid and 12″ subs with two smaller surround speakers and have a much better sound quality than the bose system.

  12. I like how bose is marketed, i like there products too. it’s true bose is not great or better (this is the same as comparing a european car to japanese built car) emotion is what drive people to but them not technical specs or features. the marketing plan is really very good. to actually tap emotion to sell the product. (this is like telling a smoker to stop smoking and telling him why but he still smokes.).

  13. As a former employee of Best Buy I knew Bose was garbage but they had their damn displays everywhere! People would come in thinking Bose was the best and when I mentioned “Klipsch” I got a “who?” And a funny look lol. I absolutely deplore their tactics and I refused to sell them on ethical grounds (though some people didnt care and want to impress their equally vapid friends with a name…)

  14. I’m very pleased to discover this site. I need to to thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every bit of it and i also have you book-marked to look at new information in your site.

    Can I simply say what a relief to find an individual who truly knows what they’re talking about on the web. You certainly know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people have to check this out and understand this side of the story. It’s surprising you aren’t more popular since you definitely have the gift.

    Excellent article. I absolutely love this website. Thanks!

    It’s hard to come by experienced people about this subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

    You need to be a part of a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I am going to highly recommend this blog!

    A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment. I do believe that you should write more on this issue, it may not be a taboo subject but usually folks don’t speak about these topics. To the next! All the best!!

    Hello there! I just wish to offer you a big thumbs up for the great info you’ve got here on this post. I will be coming back to your website for more soon.

    When I originally commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there a way you can remove me from that service? Kudos!

    The next time I read a blog, Hopefully it does not fail me just as much as this particular one. After all, I know it was my choice to read through, nonetheless I genuinely believed you’d have something interesting to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something you can fix if you were not too busy looking for attention.

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly feel this amazing site needs far more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the information!

    You are so interesting! I don’t believe I have read a single thing like that before. So nice to find somebody with a few original thoughts on this topic. Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is one thing that is required on the web, someone with some originality!

    I like reading an article that can make people think. Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

    Right here is the right webpage for anyone who hopes to understand this topic. You understand so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject that has been written about for a long time. Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

    Aw, this was a very nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to create a superb article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

    I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my hunt for something regarding this.

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having troubles with your RSS. I don’t understand why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody having similar RSS problems? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a co-worker who had been doing a little research on this. And he in fact ordered me dinner due to the fact that I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this subject here on your internet site.

    After looking into a number of the blog posts on your blog, I honestly appreciate your way of writing a blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my web site as well and tell me what you think.

    This website certainly has all the information I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    There’s certainly a lot to know about this subject. I really like all of the points you have made.

    You made some decent points there. I looked on the web for more information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this site.

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday. It’s always useful to read through articles from other authors and use a little something from other sites.

    I blog quite often and I truly appreciate your content. Your article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

    Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful article. Thanks for supplying this information.

    Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular post! It is the little changes which will make the biggest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

    Hi there! This article could not be written any better! Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I am going to forward this information to him. Pretty sure he will have a very good read. Many thanks for sharing!

    Hi, I do think your blog could possibly be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Besides that, fantastic site!

    Having read this I believed it was really informative. I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this content together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

    I need to to thank you for this great read!! I absolutely enjoyed every little bit of it. I have got you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post…

    Hi, I do think this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to revisit yet again since i have bookmarked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.

    Your style is very unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this blog.

    I used to be able to find good advice from your blog articles.

    Wonderful article! We will be linking to this great post on our site. Keep up the great writing.

    This is a good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere. Brief but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing this one. A must read post!

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!

    Saved as a favorite, I like your blog!

    Great post. I will be going through a few of these issues as well..

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article plus the rest of the site is extremely good.

    Excellent site you have here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

    This is a topic that is close to my heart… Best wishes! Where are your contact details though?

    I seriously love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you build this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my own personal site and would like to find out where you got this from or what the theme is called. Thanks!

    Everyone loves it when people come together and share views. Great website, stick with it!

    Great info. Lucky me I recently found your blog by chance (stumbleupon). I have book marked it for later!

    This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me. Cheers!

    Everything is very open with a clear description of the challenges. It was truly informative. Your website is useful. Many thanks for sharing!

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this website. I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade content by you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own website now 😉

  15. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  16. Thanks , I’ve just been looking for information approximately this topic for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered so
    far. But, what about the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to the source?

  17. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that
    automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for
    a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with
    something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  18. Al otro día, la realidad seguía siendo la negación del discurso oficial y mis vecinos, corriendo detrás del evasivo arroz, no habían tenido tiempo -ni ganas- para mirar tan tedioso montaje televisivo. Con su enorme armazón de concreto y su arquitectura yugoslava, este bloque de catorce pisos fue de los últimos terminados bajo supervisión de técnicos soviéticos.

Leave a Reply

 
